The Berengarra School is a company limited by guarantee. It is registered as an independent specialist school through the Victorian Registration and Qualification Authority, and has status as a charitable trust. It is not affiliated with any religious or charitable organization. The School Council acts as the governing body and is primarily responsible for the strategic direction of the school and the appointment of the Principal.  The day to day operation of the school is delegated to the Principal.

Members of the School Council

Chair – Dianne Penkethman – Dip. Ed. (Primary), B. Sp. Ed., M. Ed. St., Grad. Dip. Ed. Admin.

Deputy Chair – Ann Jeans – Dip.Teaching (Deakin), Grad. Dip. Sp. Ed. (Deakin). Head of Community and Transitional Education, Holmesglen TAFE.

Simon Le Plastrier (B.A., Dip Ed). Assistant Principal, Trinity Grammar.

Secretary –  Business Manager.

Principal – Peter Heffernan – B.Sc.(Melb), B.Sp.Ed. (Monash), Dip.Ed. (Melb), Grad Dip. Com. St (Hawthorn).

Bec Guggisberg – M.Soc. Ecol. (UWS), Grad. Dip Ed. (Melb), B.Outdoor Ed. (Latrobe).

Shane Kamsner – B.A., B.Sc., Dip. Ed., M. Ed. Psych. Head of Learning Development, Carey Grammar.

Justin Finnerty – B.Sc., B. Ed.

Mary Cole